Interview with Do Not Disturb: Hotel Sex Stories contributor Tess Danesi

How did you come up with the idea for your story in Do Not Disturb? Were you inspired by any particular hotels?

My story involves a mysterious threesome between the fictional Tess, her lover, Dar and a mysterious man. Even with my, ahem, rather extensive experience with kink, this is one variation that seems to have eluded me. The scenario I’ve set up In The Royalton is one that makes me hot because it pushes so many of my limits. There are times I prefer to explore these limits in fiction rather than in reality. The Royalton, a hotel on 44th Street between 5th and 6th Avenues (a block, I am told, that has the highest concentration of hotels in Manhattan) in NYC, with its plush lounge and stark yet decadent rooms is the stuff inspiration is made of.

Is there a part of a hotel that you think is the sexiest?

When you walk into a hotel, you can abandon who you are and become who you want to be in that moment. Hotels, because of their anonymity, allow for this immense sense of freedom, of anything goes. And seemingly, for me, so it does. I’ve been groped in hotel elevators, pushed to my knees in the ice room, wandered endless corridors in an all but deserted resort hotel. I’ve fucked against a window while watching a woman on the balcony below sip her wine, found myself bound to the bed when the fire alarm started bleating, and I’ve had my lover tenderly kiss me in the parking lot, come around to open my door, then drag me by my hair, bend me over the frigid hood of the car and sink his perfect cock into me within mere feet of our comfortable and warm room.

Given all of the above, I can’t say I think any part, from the lobby, to the parking lot, to the bar, to the darkened hallways, is sexiest.

What’s been your favorite hotel experience (x-rated or not)?

Actually, one of my favorite experiences is going to be published in an upcoming anthology by Alison Tyler. It involves a sadist lover, beautiful black rope, a less than ideal ball gag, a belt and a knock on the door. The knock on the door reminds me of a kinky threesome that started early one spring afternoon, broke for dinner out on the town and then took up again until after 1 am, when banging on the wall from the room next door (I tend to be a screamer even when there is no belt involved) sent us all into fits of giddy laughter and gave us a much needed break.

What do you think a hotel needs to make it a “sexy hotel?”

There was a point when I hated the thought of “hot sheet” hotels, I preferred high thread count, pristine sheets and all the other amenities that you find in a luxury hotel. I still love the way four-star hotels allow me to revel in decadence. But there are times that I crave a dirty hotel, one where my sighs, screams and moans mingle with those from the rooms around me. A place where there won’t be anyone banging on the walls (not unless they want to join in).

But what truly makes a hotel sexy is the energy of the people in the room.

Is there a specific hotel you’ve stayed in which you recommend, and/or
a hotel you want to stay in, and why?

I definitely recommend The Royalton. In the many times I’ve been lucky enough to stay there, I’ve had a some really amazing rooms including one with a fireplace and huge round bathtub and a room with a small completely mirrored anteroom in which an exercise bicycle sat (I bet those fingerprints where a bitch to clean off all those mirrors). Plus they have really hot doormen. Hi, Dino!

The rainfall showers at The Thompson LES are also pretty hard to beat.

But the hotel I am craving to go back to at the moment, is the large, deserted monster of a hotel somewhere in the wilds of New Jersey; thoughts of exploring all the nooks and crannies, from ballrooms to bathrooms, makes me feel edgy. Just thinking of it now, has me squirming in my seat.

What’s next for you?

I have been a lazy writer these days but I hope to change that and finish one of my favorite stories, “Isabella’s Eyes,” and perhaps shop it around as a novel. It will take work but I think it’s a strong story and reading it never fails to take me through a range of emotions. We’re also in the initial planning stages for the 2010 NYC SexBlogger Calendar. Plus, after being to too many awful sex toy parties, where the selection is awful and terms like doorbell are bandied about, I’m gearing up to host my own sex toy parties with all high end and quality sex toys and I’d really love to do them in hotel rooms.

Below is an excerpt from Tess Danesi’s story “The Royalton–A Daray Tale.” Read the entire story in Do Not Disturb: Hotel Sex Stories, and read more of Tess’s writing at her blog NYC Urban Gypsy.

2) There’s a bottle of Laphroaig on the credenza. Pour two tumblers and set them on the round glass table.

Two glasses of whiskey? My heart is thumping harder than ever. I put my hand on top of my breast, feeling the persistent rhythm against my palm and keeping it there until it slows. Dar knows one of my fantasies has been to be double penetrated by him and another man, but Dar, though he’s had his share of kinky three- and more-somes with casual girlfriends, has never shared anyone he cared about deeply. As I pour the amber liquid into the two glasses, inhaling the heavy peaty aroma, I think how Dar has more than satisfied me sexually, awakening a deep and darkly masochistic side of my personality. While I am not submissive in general, I am submissive to him. In the midst of the tidal wave of passion and sadism that is Dar, I never gave much thought to actualizing this particular fantasy. And with Dar’s jealousy, an emotion that has been known to stir up his profound capacity for cruelty, I worry that perhaps it would be best for all concerned to let it go unrealized. A threesome would explain why I am in this hotel room. This is something Dar would not want left to linger among the ghosts that haunt his home. It makes sense to do this here, in a place we can leave behind, abandoning any specters when we close the door behind us. I force myself to stop predicting, stop thinking and look at the next line.

3) Strip to your bra and panties.

I quickly remove my dress and hang it up neatly in the closet, eager to get to the next instruction. Though I haven’t read ahead, I’ve seen only a few more are left to go and then I’ll be in Dar’s arms. I can’t wait. It may not be a warm embrace, I may be dealing with him in his cool and methodical mood, but to me just being in his presence is calming. Contradictions abound; with Dar I feel a deep inner peace even when I am at my most apprehensive. With Dar there are only extremes, I love him or I hate him, I feel safe or frightened, often I feel these emotions at the same time. What is a constant is my fathomless trust in him. I have a premonition I will be dipping into that well of faith tonight.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

