Interview with Do Not Disturb: Hotel Sex Stories contributor Saskia Walker

How did you come up with the idea for your story, “The Lunch Break,” in Do Not Disturb? Were you inspired by any particular hotels?

“The Lunch Break” was inspired by a hotel waitress on the island of Madeira. I was staying at this rather staid hotel for a quiet break with a friend, and I had my nose in a book when the waitress came by with our drinks. The friend (shocked!) said: “That waitress wants you!” It’s so funny, in retrospect. I laughed it off at the time, but I secretly wondered what might happen if the set up had been different and I hadn’t been with the person I was with. The waitress was gorgeous, so naughty and full of fun, and as I watched her smiling my way my imagination ran riot. The result of all that steamy imagining is “The Lunch Break.” I’ll never know her name, but she’s immortalised in the story and I’ll never forget her mischievous smile.

Is there a part of a hotel that you think is the sexiest?

Hotels are downright sexy in general! You can be in a hotel anywhere in the world and meet someone who you would never come into contact with in your daily life. That element of chance is so exciting. It’s also a blank slate for a couple, being somewhere different can be so sexually liberating. The areas that seem most sexy to me are the transitional places, areas where you can grab a quick clinch when you’re on your way somewhere else, such as the mirrored elevator and the softly-lit corridors on the way to the rooms. These spaces are like appetisers for the main course in the room itself.

What’s been your favorite hotel experience (x-rated or not)?

Lots of good memories here! I once stayed in a hotel in Johannesburg where my room was on the same floor where the crew from a major airline had rooms. There were lots of naughty shenanigans going on in that corridor come bedtime! I confess that every time I heard the sound of negotiations and giggling, I was drawn to the peephole in my door.

I once flew to Barcelona at short notice to meet a lover from another part of the world who was in the city. It was the height of the season and the place was packed. I was lucky to find a tiny little room near the Ramblas, the main avenue in the centre of the city. It was simple but gorgeous. The room overlooked a cobbled side street, and it had a wrought-iron balcony, a tiny single bed and a marble tiled bathroom. That weekend has become inextricably linked to the rich sensuality of the city in my memory. Readers will find echoes of that hotel and the city in my novel, Reckless.

What do you think a hotel needs to make it a “sexy hotel?”

You know immediately when you arrive at a hotel whether it’s meant to be functional or if it’s going to inspire the emotions and the libido. A sense of mystery is important to me, sensuality in the lighting and design. I also like a traditional sense of opulence: dark wood, marble floors, velvet chairs, leather sofas and hideaway snugs in the bar.

Is there a specific hotel you’ve stayed in which you recommend, and/or a hotel you want to stay in, and why?

For anyone visiting London who can afford to stay at the Portobello hotel, it comes highly recommended. It’s a small, exclusive hotel where each room has a unique design. It’s wonderfully mysterious, luxurious and sensual, a real treat! Here’s a photo of me taken when I stayed at the hotel. This round bed is said to be Tina Turner’s favourite place to stay in London, and in the background is the Victorian bath where Johnny Depp and Kate Moss “allegedly” took a bath together in champagne. And yes, I did think of them while I was in the bath. Well, you have to, don’t you?

What’s next for you?

I’m about to become immersed in the writing of my second novel for Harlequin Spice, currently titled Erogenous Zones. This one is set in London. Hmmm. I wonder if I can make it an excuse to stay at the Portobello again…

Below is an excerpt from Saskia Walker’s story “The Lunch Break.” Read the whole story in Do Not Disturb: Hotel Sex Stories.

I had responded to her, I couldn’t deny that, and I had found my way down the stairs, so I guess I was guilty. Martine growled low in her throat, eyeing my body. The atmosphere positively crackled between us.

“I admire your directness, too,” I replied. “Thank you for your invitation, it made me very…hot.”

Martine grinned proudly and pulled me into the room by one arm, closing in on my mouth for an urgent kiss as the door slammed shut. Her mouth was lush and hot, damp and inviting. My portfolio clattered to the floor. She backed me toward the bed, her eyes sparkling.

“You have to do it, when it happens like this, yes, or you will have a regret, and life it is too short for regrets, huh?”

She flickered her eyebrows at me. Before I had a chance to reply, she pushed me back and I landed on the bed on my back. She moved like lightning, her hands homing in on the heat of my sex, to the wetness that she knew awaited her. I opened my legs, my skirt riding up.

“Take your clothes off, quickly!” I stripped off my skirt and started to pull my top up and over my head while Martine pulled my silk G-string down my legs. The shelves behind us rattled and something fell; the stereo jumped onto the next track. My blood surged with a dangerous, dizzy rush of exhilaration when Martine stroked my legs and moved straight into my heat, taking my clit in her mouth, nursing its fullness and sucking deeply. She moved her mouth over my flesh in deliberate sweeps, ending back on my clitoris, with the tip of her tongue circling it closely, firmly. Oh, she was good. I felt as if a bomb was about to go off inside me.

That’s when I noticed the mirror that stood close to the bed and the scene reflected there transfixed me. Martine was kneeling between my legs, and as her skirt rode up, I saw she wore stockings but no panties, her pussy naughtily peeping out as she bent. I could just make out the tip of her tongue, darting out and rolling over my sticky sex folds. It looked so strange, seeing myself like that, with her on me, and it sent me flying toward meltdown point.

Read more about Saskia at her blog.

2 Responses to “Interview with Do Not Disturb: Hotel Sex Stories contributor Saskia Walker”

  1. Emerald Says:

    What a lovely and interesting interview. I love the story of how “The Lunch Break” was inspired and how you say she was “immortalised in the story.” Neat. I also love these two lines —

    “You can be in a hotel anywhere in the world and meet someone who you would never come into contact with in your daily life. ”

    and

    “The areas that seem most sexy to me are the transitional places, areas where you can grab a quick clinch when you’re on your way somewhere else”

    both of which seemed astute and thoughtful to me.

    Thanks to Saskia and Rachel!

  2. Saskia Says:

    Hey Emerald! Thanks so much for your feedback. Rachel had great questions for us and it was a fun interview to think about.

Leave a Reply

