Interview with Do Not Disturb: Hotel Sex Stories contributor Elizabeth Coldwell

How did you come up with the idea for your story in Do Not Disturb? Were you inspired by any particular hotels?

I assumed that a lot of ideas, such as couples checking in under false identities and people meeting up to conduct an affair would probably be pretty popular, so I tried to find a different reason why someone would be staying in a hotel. At the time, there was a story about a trial which was taking a long time to come to a verdict, and the jurors were having to stay overnight in a hotel until they reached a decision. That, coupled with the fact that every time I switched on the Scuzz rock video channel, it seemed to be playing Good Charlotte’s “Lifestyles Of The Rich And Famous,” which is set in a court room, set something off in my head, and I came up with the two bored jurors who found a sexy way of passing the time before they had to be back in court. I didn’t have a specific hotel in mind, just somewhere nice but fairly generic where all the rooms are identical – and, of course, it had a view out over a busy city.

Is there a part of a hotel that you think is the sexiest?

I like hotel bars, and being able to sit and watch other people around you, wondering what they might be doing and who they are with. I’ve been in the bar at the Algonquin Hotel in New York and loved it – so much history. And of course, bars are great places to hook up with someone, if you’re looking for a no-strings liaison.

What’s been your favorite hotel experience (x-rated or not)?

Two female friends and I spent a couple of days in Jersey, and booked a room for three – it was some cheap deal through one of the daily newspapers. When we turned up, they had assumed we were two parents and a child, which was quite funny – and to make it worse, the single bed one of my friends was in (I was sharing the double) promptly broke when she got into it. Absolutely nothing naughty went on, but we dread to think what they thought we’d done to it!

What do you think a hotel needs to make it a “sexy hotel?”

Ideally, it needs to be small and intimate, not large and characterless. I don’t go for sleazy motels, though I know a lot of people find them very sexy – I like to feel that I’m being pampered by the staff, as well as whoever I’m with.

Is there a specific hotel you’ve stayed in which you recommend, and/or a hotel you want to stay in, and why?

I’m very intrigued by the Lloyd Hotel, in Amsterdam’s Eastern Docks. It’s an amazing Art Deco building, with quite an arty history, but its selling point is that it has rooms varying from one star to five stars, all in the same building. Apparently one of the five-star rooms has a grand piano, while another has a bed which sleeps eight. You could really have fun in that one…

What’s next for you?

I’ve just had a story accepted by Black Lace for one of their anthologies. And my next holiday is booked, to Amsterdam. I won’t be staying at the Lloyd Hotel, but I may take the chance to go to their bar and see if I get inspired by it.

812-400-267

342-284-190

334-284-228
Lloyd Hotel photos via their website

Below is an excerpt from Elizabeth Coldwell’s story “Guilty Pleasure.” Read the whole story in Do Not Disturb: Hotel Sex Stories, available now, as well as in the (forthcoming) June 2009 issue of Penthouse. Also available at Amazon UK.

“Nice room,” Craig says, looking around. “And that view is superb. All I can see out of my window is the parking lot.”

He turns out to be a vodka man, and I’m unscrewing a bottle and pouring it into a glass for him when he suddenly says, “Hey, I’m not interrupting anything here, am I?”

The bathroom door is open, and at first I assume he can see the tub, full of foamy water. And then I realize he’s staring at the bedæmore specifically, at the hot pink vibrator which is still lying where I threw it.

My cheeks are flushed and I know I’ve been busted. “What can I say?” I ask, trying to make a joke out of the situation. “Sometimes I just get horny.”

“Particularly when hubby and his big, hard cock aren’t around to satisfy you, huh?” Hearing Craig use the word “cock” makes my pussy clench with a sudden, fierce spasm. As I stand rooted to the spot, he picks the toy up, twists the base so it buzzes briefly into life, then switches it off again. “You know,” he says, “I’ve always wanted to watch a woman use one of these things on herself.” I think I know what’s coming next, but I just fiddle with my glass as he continues, “And I’d love it if that woman was you.”

I should stop the conversation here and ask him to leave the room. After all, I’m a respectable married woman, not some kind of slut who’ll act out any old nasty fantasy if a man asks her to. And yet, there’s something about being in this anonymous hotel room, away from everyone and everything I know, which makes me feel that, if only for tonight, I could be that slut.

The tension in the room is almost unbearable as Craig takes a swig of his vodka and I wait for him to raise the stakes. “Go on,” he says finally. “Take that robe off for me.”

I set down my glass and walk over to the bed. Craig’s eyes never leave me as my hands fumble with the belt of the robe. I untie it and shrug the garment off, standing before him naked. It’s been a very long time since anyone but Don has seen me this way, and I can’t help being a little insecure as I bare myself to him. I’m sure my body is more mature than those of the girls Craig is used to being with, a little heavier, a little more rounded. But his gaze is eating me up, letting me know just how desirable he finds me.

“Here.” Craig hands me the vibrator, letting his hand brush gently against the curve of my ass. I don’t bother with the lube; I’m already so wet that I know the toy is just going to slip inside me.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

